Sajad Lone visits Kupwara, thanks voters, party workers for overwhelming participation in polls

Peoples Conference Chairman Sajad Gani Lone, who is currently on a four-day visit to District Kupwara, expressed his heartfelt gratitude to the people of District Kupwara their overwhelming participating in the elections and reposing their faith in Peoples Conference.

While addressing a series of workers’ meetings at Lolab, Kupwara, Langate and Handwara, Sajad said, “I am thankful to the people who came out to vote for an inclusive and progressive democracy irrespective of the party they voted for. An overwhelming majority, this time, voted for change and I assure them that their vote against the traditional, dynastic parties will be a ‘game-changer’ in the politics of Kashmir. I am overwhelmed with the faith people have reposed in our party. I assure them that Peoples Conference will work to safeguard the interests of a common Kashmiri and usher in an era of human and infrastructure development in the state”, he added.

Commenting on the upshot in developmental projects in District Kupwara since 2014, Sajad said that he was able to bring more developmental projects than district Kupwara has seen in the last 18 years.

“Look at the projects that have been approved for District Kupwara in the last 4 years. Rail link to Kupwara, four-laning of highway, model hospital in Handwara, Bio technology park, Degree College. Centrally sponsored scheme Central Road Fund (CRF) funded no projects in Kupwara until 2014 but now the district got the lion’s share in J&K. We have 100 MW hydro-power projects approved for district Kupwara, which didn’t generate a single kilowatt until 2014”, adding that the day is not far when district Kupwara will be a pioneer in many developmental fronts.

He also thanked all party workers for their sincere and dedicated efforts to ensure high participation in parliament elections. Lone was accompanied by ex-MLA Kupwara, Advocate Bashir Ahmad Dar, Constituency Head Handwara Ashique Hussian, Distt President Kupwara Hafeezullah, Constituency Secretary Abdul Ahad Kashmiri, District Youth president Mir Sulaiman.

Comments are closed.